Board members

The current members of the Legal Profession Board are:

Chairperson of the Board:

Mr Keyran Pitt QC 

Formally Mr Pitt QC has held appointments as Chairman of the Resource Management and Planning Appeal Tribunal; the Planning Appeals Board; the Mental Health Review Tribunal; and the Medical Complaints Tribunal.

He was also the Deputy Chairman for the Building Appeals Board and Environmental Protection Appeal Board, and, is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Planning Institute of Australia.

Mr Pitt QC is the former President of the Bar Association of Tasmania and Medico-Legal Society of Tasmania.  He actively supported the legal profession in Tasmania as a former Council Member of the Law Society of Tasmania and Bar Association of Tasmania.

Mr Pitt QC currently works as a Barrister and an Arbitrator and is also the Chairman of the Forest Practices Tribunal.

Lay Members:

Ms Judith Paxton JP

Ms Paxton was the Tasmanian Legal Ombudsman from 1994 until 2008, the State Director of the Commonwealth Merit Protection and Review Agency and the Chairperson of a number of tribunals responsible for determining disputes and grievances.

Mr Peter Dane

Mr Dane has held senior management positions in the telecom and electricity industries since 1983.  Mr Dane has a Master of Business Administration from the University of Tasmania.

Legal Members:

Mr Graeme Jones
Mr Jones completed a Bachelor of Laws degree at the University of Tasmania in 1977 and was admitted as a practitioner of the Supreme Court of Tasmania in 1980.

He is an active member of the legal profession and the community.  His current and previous activities are as follows:

  • Legal Assistance Committee member (1983-1990)
  • Bar Association Committee member (1981-1992)
  • Member of the Board of Legal Education (2004-2008)
  • Council member of the Law Society of Tasmania (2006-2013)
  • President of the Law Society of Tasmania (2009-2010)
  • Chairman Law Foundation of Tasmania (2009-2010)
  • Board member of the Centre of Legal Studies (2008-current)
  • Member of the Legal Profession Board of Tasmania (2015-current)
  • Board member of Eskleigh Foundation Inc. (2005-2009)
  • Board member of Wildcare Inc. (2009-2013)

He is a senior partner of a prominent Launceston law practice and is an experienced legal practitioner having practiced as both a barrister and solicitor for other thirty-five years.

Mr Anthony Mihal
Mr Mihal is a director of a generalist law practice in Ulverstone and he undertakes mainly litigious work including civil, criminal and child protection.  He served on the Council of the Law Society of Tasmania for 7 years including as President in 2013/2014, the Law Foundation of Tasmania and the Management Committee of the North West Community Legal Centre including as Chair.  He is currently a member of the Law Council of Australia's Regional, Remote, Rural Lawyers' Advisory Committee and the Chairman of a charitable organisation called the Roland View Estate Trust.

Mr David Lewis
Mr Lewis, a prominent barrister on the North West Coast of Tasmania with in excess of 25 years’ experience, was appointed to the Board on 27 June 2016.


All persons wishing to contact the Board, whether in relation to a complaint, enquiry or another issue, are to do so through the Office of the Legal Profession Board of Tasmania (see contact us for address and telephone details on this website). Personal correspondence directed to the Chairperson of the Board may be deposited at the Board's offices and marked “Private & Confidential”.